Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Blog Tour - COMPROMISING WILLA + interview + giveaway

I am very excited to have Diana Quincy here for an interview today.  She's doing the rounds for her Compromising Willa Blog Tour.  I have to say, I really enjoyed this book (check out my review here).  Make sure you enter the giveaway below to try and win a free copy!! :)

Haven't heard of Compromising Willa yet?  Well, here's a little about it:

Title: Compromising Willa
Series: The Accidental Peers
Author: Diana Quincy
E-book: 267 pages
Release date: 9 December 2013
ISBN: 978-1622664146
Goodreads  Amazon  Barnes & Noble   

Hi, Diana.  Welcome to The Gal in the Blue Mask.  Let's start off with you telling us a little bit about yourself.

Thanks for having me!  Let's see ... I'm a former television reporter who decided to start writing romance novels after falling in love with he genre when I discovered it about six years ago.  I live on the East Coast and am married with two sons.  I also still work in journalism, as a Web Editor for an international news organization.

What is the first book you remember reading?

I'm pretty sure it involved Dick, Jane, Sally and their dog, Spot.  Those early readers are the first books I can remember.  When my children started reading, I was a little disappointed that Spot and the gang were no longer used in schools.  Still, for nostalgia's sake, I did manage to find a volume of Dick and Jane stories to share with my two boys.  The kids were pretty indifferent to the books, but I had a lot of fun revisiting the characters as an adult! 

What books have influenced you?

Probably the first romance I ever read as an adult influenced my writing career the most.  I picked it up by chance while waiting in line to check out books for my kids at the library.  I don't remember the name but it was written by Shirlee Busbee.  I still love her books! 

What made you decide to begin writing in the first place?

I've loved to write for as long as I can remember and, as a journalist, that's been something I've done in my career.  I've always thought how great it would be to become a writer but I never had any idea of what type of book I could write.  However, once I discovered historical romance novels, something clicked in me and I thought, "I want to write this." 

Do you have a special place you like to write?

I write at the dining room table which is a sunny, open space, but I've recently started thinking about redoing our study into an office just for me.  I'm feeling the need to have a permanent space where I can keep my research books and other writing-related materials that don't have to be cleaned up every time we have people over for dinner. 

What inspires you the most?

Reading books by talented authors always inspires me.  I also find inspiration for my writing in history.  The Accidental Peers series often borrows from real-life events.  Tempting Bella, the second book in the series, was inspired by the true story of the heir to a dukedom who marries a thirteen-year-old girl to settle a gaming debt between their fathers.

Which of your characters do you think is the most like you?  

My friend reads everything I write and says I am most like Willa in Compromising Willa.  Of course, Willa is 1,000 times more fabulous than I ever could hope to be, but there is a reserve with strangers and an openness with friends and family that I think I do share with her. 

Is there anything about writing you find most challenging?

Finding time to write while working full time and raising a family is one of my biggest challenges.  Sometimes the plot itself is a struggle but I force myself to get that first draft down.  That way, at least I'll have something to work with. 

What do you think makes a good story?

Memorable characters the readers can become invested in.  Toss in good writing, some honest emotions, an unexpected development or two, and a satisfying ending.  Of course, the very best books are the ones that stay with you long after you've finished reading them.

About Diana:
Diana Quincy is an award-winning former television journalist who decided she'd rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed.

Fans of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas and Sabrina Jeffries will love her Regency world of dashing dukes, irresistible rogues and the headstrong, determined women who capture their hearts.  New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes says SEDUCING CHARLOTTE is "Sweet, steamy, and thoroughly enjoyable ... Equal parts action, passion and fun."

Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with  her husband and two sons.  When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows.  Diana loves to hear from readers.  You can follow her on Twitter at @Diana_Quincy or visit her website at www.dianaquincy.com.

To learn more about Diana's upcoming books and for sneak previews and other special exclusive giveaways, please consider signing up for her quarterly newsletters at www.dianaquincy.com.  Diana understands your information is private and promises NEVER to share it with anyone.

 

Giveaway details:
1 Paperback of Tempting Bella, 1 tin of Compromising Willa Custom Tea and a $10 Starbucks Gift Card (US only)
3 e-books of Compromising Willa (International)

  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

Week One:

2/17/2014-Michelle Chew Writes- Review

2/17/2014- Simply Ali- Scavenger Hunt

2/18/2014- Bookworm Blurbs- Review

2/18/2014- herding cats & burning soup - Interview

2/19/2014- Margay Leah Justice - Review

2/19/2014- Curling Up With A Good Book- Scavenger Hunt

2/20/2014- Ramblings From This Chick- Review

2/20/2014- Sapphyria's Book Reviews- Guest Post (Top 10's)

2/21/2014- BookGroupies- Review

2/21/2014- Romantic Reads and Such- Scavenger Hunt


Week Two:

2/24/2014- Always Reiding- Review

2/24/2014- Fade Into Fantasy- Scavenger Hunt

2/25/2014- The Gal in the Blue Mask- Review/Interview

2/25/2014- Fab Fantasy Fiction- Interview

2/26/2014- What I'm Reading- Review

2/26/2014- Ex Libris- Scavenger Hunt

2/27/2014- Becky on Books- Review

2/27/2014- Reviews by Crystal- Guest Post (Top 10's)

2/28/2014- The La La Land of Books- Review

2/28/2014- Talking Books Blog- Scavenger Hunt