Wednesday, October 1, 2014

REVIEW: Night Chill

Night Chill 1:
Night Chill
Jeff Gunhus

Genre: Thriller, Horror, Paranormal
Publisher: Seven Guns Press
Publication date: 5.31.2013
Pages: 438

Recommended by: Xpresso Book Tours, Read 2 Review
Date read: 9.30.2014

Summary: In the tradition of Stephen King and Dean Koontz - intended for mature audiences.  Jack Tremont moves his family to the quiet mountains of Western Maryland hoping to leave behind a troubled past and restart his life.  Instead, he finds himself caught up in a nightmare when his daughter Sarah is targeted by Nate Huckley, a mysterious and horrifying stranger driven by a dark, ancient power who will stop at nothing to abduct Sarah.  When Sarah goes missing, suspicion falls on Jack and he must uncover the secrets of the small mountain town of Prescott City and face the evil secret hidden there.  As he digs further, he learns the conspiracy reaches more deeply than he could have imagined.  He must soon face the question: What is a father willing to do to save his child?  The answer?  Anything.  Anything at all.


Talk about creepiness...  This book, once you get past the first 25%, is really awesome to read.  It has the mystery and suspense that I love from a thriller mixed with the paranormal scariness (yes, that's a thing haha) I expect from a horror novel.  It is nicely written and there were several really powerful scary moments, starting with the moment Jack and his two daughters, Sarah and Becky, first meet Nate.  I do have to say that there were several character that I just did not care for - must have been a gut feeling :).

That first 25%, though.  There is SO MUCH going on that it feels like an info dump (it was kinda boring in parts, actually) - or, worse, like I'm reading the second book in a series without reading the first.  There was so much I didn't know that came across like I should have already had a clue ... until the information was finally divulged.  It was really hard to see how it all would connect, but once it did, things made perfect sense.   

Jeff, you are definitely an author I'm gonna keep my eye on.

Favorite line: "The background noise of Piper's, a country western song on the jukebox, the jingle of the old-fashioned cash register behind the bar, the grunting laughter of the men from the corner, all seemed disconnected, somehow gaudy instead of the comfortable familiarity the same noises had held only minutes earlier."  Maybe not my "favorite" line, but one that really stood out for me.  I could almost feel myself there.

Favorite character: Sarah.  She went through so much, at such a young age, but at the same time, kept thinking about the ones around her.

No comments: